How I live my Life

I was thinking about what I am trying to achieve at any single point in time – How do I live my life?

Everything I think, I say, I do is governed by three broad principles which I guess is linked to my “Three Ls” idea:

I am continuously pushing the limits of my mind. I find opportunities to expand my comfort zone – to broaden my horizons. I find opportunities to increase my capacity of mental energy – to destroy mental laziness and replace it with mental stamina. I find opportunities to increase my empathic capabilities – to improve my relationships with my fellow humans. Increasing the stamina of my mind by forcing thought when it tires.

I ensure my actions are right and good. Right thoughts flow into right words and actions. I minimise pain that I cause to others – it is impossible to cause no pain and sometimes it is necessary. I do not do to others what I do not wish to be done to me. On rare occasions where I find my conduct unethical I will do my utmost to correct the wrong and ensure it is not repeated. I aim to be source of goodness to the people and world around me.

I ensure that every day has value. Time spent with loved ones. New, positive and rich experiences. Reflections and learning. I recognise the scarcity of time and vigorously optimise the way that I spend it. I clutch on to my past because that is my life, I optimise the present while looking to the future because the present will soon be my past and the future will soon be my present.

10 comments
  1. mewhoami said:

    That last statement was very profound. I really like your perspective on life and your outlook. Your goals of bettering yourself, of being the best ‘you’ that you can be, and helping those around you, are commendable.

  2. glenn said:

    This is an inspiring post and thank you for sharing it.
    ” the present will soon be my past and the future will soon be my present” … and someday soon, my friend, this ride will come to an end and we can’t just get in line again.

  3. Michelle said:

    A lovely , rewarding and positive way to live. Well done!

  4. You might really enjoy the writings of Richard Wetherill (Alpha Publishing)… also a person dedicated to the ethical life.

      • I find him very interesting, and it’s been worth my time to read his book “Might Is Right.” I’m planning to look at a few others. Anyway, wishing you a great day!

  5. You radiate such a good example of how we can live… Barbara

  6. Great post, I totally agree with your philosophy and look forward to reading your posts. Joe

  7. Love this line: ” I ensure that every day has value.” What a great way to start each day — and something I’m going to remember. Thanks for following my blog, Oh, the Places We See. We, too, are trying to see the world through different eyes and appreciate what’s around us. Best wishes for much success in 2014. http://ohtheplaceswesee.com

    • I don’t want to go to bed at night not feeling like I have accomplished something be it a learning experience or quality time with a loved one.

Leave a Reply

